Milestones and Achievements

In August 1987, GAW, to inspire and spur literary creativity in Ghana, instituted and established with the support of concerned patrons of the arts its first ever Awards ceremony in Accra. Thirteen writers were awarded cash prizes and citations.The following writers were the first five awardees:

1. The Kwame Nkrumah Award for the Creator in the Clearing, (Established by Ghana Oil Co. Ltd.) the highest of the awards (not contestable), went to E. Lamte Lawson, then at 91 years.

2. The Kwegyir Aggrey Award for Creator in the Clearing (Established by Ghana Oil Co. Ltd.) winner: Crakye Denteh.

3. The Kwame Nkrumah Award for Ghanaian Literature (Established by BP Ghana Ltd.), went to Kojo Laing.

4. The W.E.B. Du Bois Award for Ghanaian Literature (Established by Shell Ghana Ltd.)  for best collection of short stories: F.K. Nyarku was the winner.

5. Ama Ata Aidoo won The Nelson Mandela Award for Ghanaian Literature (Established by the Ghana Commercial Bank.) for best collection of Poetry.

Related Links


Featured Publisher

Members contribution to a multitude of publications and books around Ghana and beyond. gdfgggdsg ssdggdsgs gsdggd sggdsgsg

Find Out more »

Featured Book

Monthly meeting on the second Saturday in every three month, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Find Out more »

NEWs & Events

AMIP Executives Present New U.S.-Ghana/Africa Book To Ghana's Ambassador To The U.S.

Find Out more »